Type at least 1 character to search

Gov. Gen. Mary Simon announces 83 appointments to Order of Canada

Governor General Mary Simon with Christi Belcourt at Rideau Hall (photo: Rideau Hall)

Christi Belcourt will be inducted as a member into the Order of Canada, Governor General Mary Simon announced today (June 27, 2024).

The day before, on June 26, 2024, Christi joined Her Excellency Mary Simon to mark the exhibition of Honouring Our Spirit Helpers at Rideau Hall. Installed on National Indigenous Peoples Day, Honouring My Spirit Helpers explores the interconnectedness of water, land and spirit, and demonstrates the Governor General’s commitment to highlighting Indigenous excellence. The painting is on loan by the Seventh Generation Midwives. It is the first art on display within Rideau Hall by a Metis artist.

According to the release on the announcement, Christi is being inducted as a Member of the Order of Canada for her art and advocacy. “Christi Belcourt is a Métis visual artist, environmentalist and social justice advocate. She is renowned for her large, painted floral landscapes inspired by Métis beadwork, which are found in many public and permanent collections across North America. She has also organized several national, community-based projects of note, including Walking With Our Sisters, the Willisville Mountain Project, and the Onaman Collective. She devotes much of her time to supporting Indigenous language revitalization.”

(photo: Rideau Hall)

Other appointees include:

Tina Keeper, Cree actress, producer and advocate

Fort Smith NWT Elder Jane Rose Dragon, for maintaining and sharing traditional knowledge and skills with the next generation, notably in the creation of Indigenous garments.

Richard Kelly Miskokomon, Chief of the Chippewas of the Thames First Nation and former grand chief of the Anishinabek Nation.

Solomon Ratt from Regina. He is a storyteller, educator and author dedicated to preserving and revitalizing the Cree language.

Tina Keeper, Christi Belcourt, Solomon Ratt among Order of Canada appointees